Originally posted on my (Mark Evans) blog unmaskedtheologian.wordpress.com 2/7/15

I am not opposed to denominations, nor am I ecumenical. My heart is best explained by the words of Reverend Pearly Brown, “my heart is so heavy… we should love one another… our sisters and brothers… one Lord, one faith, and only one baptism… I wonder why Christians have so many different religions.” Christ came 2,000 years ago to make a radical change in the lives of His creation. We have the Spirit who teaches us the things of God, yet we manage to mess up Christ’s most wonderful creation of the church.

The greatest concern is this, we bicker and fight amongst ourselves. This behavior reveals satanic influence rather than Christ-likeness. Jesus tells His disciples, and us, that we are to teach others to observe all the things that He had commanded (John 28.20) Jesus was a servant; where is that influence? I recognize this weakness in my own life, and as a result, I intend to get closer to Jesus by meditating more about Jesus and what He taught. In John 13.35 Jesus said this, by this shall all men know that you are my disciples, if ye have love one to another. He also tells us that as the Father has loved Him, He has loved us, and we are to continue in His love, outpouring His love. John 13.9

My heart is broken about the division that has been caused by God’s people. I have to take responsibility for the hurt that I have caused others. Autocratic leadership, pride, the idolatrous need to be right, and self-glorification has contributed to this division for many years. My teacher, and mentor says this, “love people more than truth.” Loving people will replace division with reconciliation, frustration with patience, and anger with love. Christ demonstrated great patience in His relationships, and God demonstrates great patience with us now.

