https://www.amazon.com/Seeking-Allah-Finding-Jesus-Christianity

Originally posted on my blog unmaskedtheologian.wordpress.com 3/19/15, modified 5/6/16

What a tremendous read, a testimony written by a former Muslim converted to Christianity. I found this book on Amazon; I was not looking for it, but what a treasure. A timely book, Nabeel shares his life with us in a time when western Christians are afraid of the (supposed) impending Muslim reign of terror in America. Many people are effected by the increasing threat of hostile Muslims (fear mongering rhetoric and propoganda). I believe that I am the minority; I am pleased to see so many cultures and people. God is bringing others to us.

While missionaries are being sent to the foreign field many lost souls are coming here, to America. Many Americans fear what may happen as a result of such a radical change; I am excited. Will it bring difficulty, and possibly many great challenges, yes, but I remind readers of what Christ said in Matthew 10.37-39.

He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me. He that findeth his life shall lose it; and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.

There are a few things I learned from this testimony. Muslims are devout, and extremely structural in their faith. For many, Islam is a way of life, much more than a religion. Nabeel’s family was very “tight knit” and they participated as a family in all their worship, and religious rituals. Nabeel was taught to be a good boy, and he was taught to exemplify his family and faith. The family took their faith very seriously. Ironically, Nabeel’s parents view American Christianity as ungodly. A testimony to how we represent our Lord, sad.

Not all Muslims persecute non-Muslims. In fact, violent Muslims persecuted Nabeel’s sect. As I understand there are about seventy-three sects. A Muslim can be killed for converting to Christianity, the cost for apostasy.  Nabeel discovered the truth of the Gospel as he diligently studied Islam, but I won’t take the time here, read the book. For Americans, becoming a Christian has very little cost, perhaps no cost at all. However, for Muslims it can cost everything.

This autobiography explains Nabeel’s life growing up in a Muslim home. It expands from his childhood to his current ministry with Ravi Zacharias International Ministries. You can read about his agonizing experience. The fear of going to hell, for the Muslim, belief in Jesus as God is the unforgivable sin. He faced the reality that his parents would feel betrayed. Becoming a Christian meant turning his back on everything. However, he had loving friends who persisted. Praise God that his friends did not write him off as “another Muslim.”

This is the second book that I have read concerning Muslims converting to Christianity. God has been using dreams. I am going to look for more resources concerning these current events. I am excited to see God working in the lives of people. There is no reason for us as Christians to be dismayed or fearful, because God is working, He has not stopped. This truth needs to become a reality in our lives. He is still seeking the lost, and still sanctifying His followers, and still providing grace and strength to the persecuted. Read the book, recognize our commission to share Christ with everyone. I confess that my enthusiasm for reaching the lost has diminished. But, I am refreshed and encouraged by the testimony of converted Muslims who press forward, sharing Christ even though it cost so much, for some, their life. (See my previous post… Killing Christians)

