http://stephen-miller.com/blog/

Stephen Miller’s new book, Liberating King, contains ten chapters. Each chapter concludes with three “questions for application and discussion.” The questions are very specific, pointed, and directed to the reader. Ignoring the questions would be the only way to avoid the personal reflection (I believe, intended by the author).

In the introduction, Stephen writes, “this book… is not a self-help guide… the book is for broken people.” Miller makes the point that worship is much more than a song. He does this in ten chapters. Each chapter contains a different passage of Scripture, which is great. I am a student, and because I am a student, I prefer a more in-depth exegesis and exposition. My preferences can sometimes interfere with my appreciation for a book. I cannot fault Miller, he did a great job of exposition, and he did make personal application for each introductory Scripture.

The first four chapters did not really impress me much. Miller focused a great deal on God’s sovereignty and power, which is okay. Like many others, he wrote rather ambiguously about the subject. But, at chapter five there was a shift. In chapter five he discussed loving oneself and the insecurity that so many Christians face. He writes, “our liberating King Jesus frees you and me to love others well because he himself knows both acceptance and rejection.”  At chapter five the book took a turn for the better, I could really identify with the last five chapters. He discussed relevant issues, personal struggles that all Christians are confronted with.

I would definitely recommend the book. There were plenty of great quotes, and probably some sermon illustrations. The premise, I believe, Christ sets us free, worship is more than a song. Worship is a way of life. Jesus has given us reason to worship Him. And worship helps us to fully experience who He is.

 

