My Near Death Experience

I realize that a near death experience can be defined in several ways. I did not have an out of body experience. I was in a situation where I could have potentially died, by electrocution. I remained conscious the entire time.

Lord, I’m coming home.

I received a call from a friend, his air condition was not working. It was summer and it was hot. I was able to diagnose the problem over the phone. The door switch on his air handler was broken, an easy fix. I tried to talk him through it. I told him to make sure he cut the power to the unit. All he needed to do was eliminate/bypass the switch and wire nut the wires together. But, he was not confident about the situation, so I hung up the phone and made my way over to his house.

I didn’t have my tools, because I always left them in the company truck. The truck that I normally drove home every night, but not this particular night, sigh. I found my Leatherman multi-tool and headed over. With my metal Leatherman multi-tool I begin to strip the wires, very quickly I realized that my friend had turned the power back on. Why he did this, I do not know. Why I did not check for power, I do not know. But, here I am staring at the ceiling, and I can hear myself yelling (involuntary of course). As soon as the metal tool touched the bare wire, I became part of the electrical circuit. If you do not know already, humans make excellent conductors. It was only a few seconds, because my friend tackled me and broke me free from the wire. Tackling me was a very dangerous thing for him to do. If you ever find yourself in a similar situation it is safer to knock the wires loose with a broom handle or something other than a conductor. It was the electricity that held me, an external force could have broken the circuit very easily.

I learned something that day. Obviously, after that I always checked the circuit breaker/power. Of course, on the job I always checked the power. I just assumed that my friend kept the power off, there was no reason to turn it back on. Anyways, to my point, my faith is real. I know that we should not base our faith on experience. But, experience helps to confirm our faith. I will never forget that moment (few seconds), seemed like forever to me.

Ironically, the electricity surging through my body stiffened me like a board. I was involuntarily staring up at the ceiling. I thought to myself, or you could say, I spoke to the Lord. Very clearly, I will never forget; I said “Lord, I’m coming home.” That was it, my life did not flash before my eyes. I thought I was going to die and I was not scared. Other than my involuntary yelling and the immense pain of electricity surging through my body, I was very calm. I was ready to see Jesus.

I have been teaching for three years now. Every year I tell this story to my students, at the right time. I tell them that on the drive home I didn’t use my headlights because my eyes were glowing. Every year one or two of the sixth graders will say, really? (laugh now) And then we laugh. There is a good chance that I have inherited coronary heart disease and my parents often remind me of that probability. I always say, my heart got a jump start! And it did, I was sore for a little while.

Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ I Corinthians 15.55-57

Jesus conquered sin, death, and the fear of death.

If death makes you uncomfortable, you have to ask yourself why. If you are a Christian and you fear death, you have to ask yourself why. On Monday mornings I tell my students, there has to be a Monday before there can ever be a Friday. There has to be a death before there can be a resurrection, and thats when we really start living!

In His presence!

Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. John 14.6

Are you ready?

