“Two young men call me mom, four kids call me grandma and one incredible husband calls me hon. When I was 19, an older aunt challenged me to fall in love with Jesus and I’ve been on that crazy, amazing, disturbing, beautiful and ever changing quest for over four decades now. What I love most is helping others find their own unique path as they grow in grace and intimacy with Christ, the Lover of our souls.”-Tricia McCary Rhodes

The information above has been copied from Tricia’s personal blog.

http://www.soulatrest.com

ABOUT THE BOOK

“Brain scientists are aware of the change technology has on our mind, but the solutions aren’t found in science: They’re found in the ancient practices of the faith. Tricia McCary Rhodes guides us through a practical reintroduction to the classic disciplines of Scripture reading, meditation, prayer, and contemplation. Not just as technologies to aid our faith, but also as tools to keep us focused and mindful in an increasingly disorienting digital age.”

THE AUTHOR

“Tricia McCary Rhodes has served in ministry for over 35 years and is the author of several books, including The Soul at Rest, Sacred Chaos, and Contemplating the Cross. She and her husband founded New Hope Church in San Diego. She is currently an adjunct professor of practical theology at Fuller Seminary. Keep up to date with Tricia at her Soul At Rest blog.”

The information above has been copied from NavPress official website.

http://www.books.thedisciplemaker.org/the-wired-soul/#

I must admit, I was a little skeptical about this book, and I was really not that interested in reading it. But, I am pleased that I took the opportunity. The book is very relevant, considering that we live in the age of technology, and each day new technology is under development. Tricia writes, ” the neurological activity between our ears, which is greatly affected by our digital habits, has had a direct link to our formation in Christlikeness.” (p. 6) She challenges readers with this thought provoking question, “can you say with confidence that technology is a servant to your needs rather than a silent taskmaster over you?” (p. 7)  Tricia identifies the fact that she is not a scientist and that she does not understand all the complexities of the brain. But she does explain some interesting responses triggered by reading, and the contrasting responses of digital devices.

Tricia explains how disciplines such as reflection, meditation, prayer, and contemplation offer more than just spiritual help. All of these disciplines affect the brain and trigger responses including brain growth and right emotions. This reality makes sense due to the mind’s connection to the soul, hence “The Wired Soul.” I found this information very exciting. I will not elaborate, you will have to read the book yourself.

The book contains four parts, Lectio, Meditatio, Oartio, and Contemplatio. Each section includes practical exercises. I did not complete all of the exercises, but I will, one at a time.  Lectio includes slow reading, receptive reading and retentive reading. Meditatio includes God-focused deep breathing and biblical meditation. Oratio includes a self-examined journal documenting time spent on digital devices, brief and prayerful assessment, and table-talk connections (meaningful, spiritual, and prayerful conversation and fellowship around a dinner table). Contemplatio includes, contemplation in solitude and contemplation in action.

Tricia provides some excellent suggestions for improving the devotional life.  Her suggestions include practices and thought provoking questions. She also shares some of her own struggles and experiences, I aways appreciate when authors are honest and transparent about their own needs and experiences. The purpose of the book, as I understand it, encouragement for the reader to take the opportunity for self-evaluation in light of technology. And, suggestions on how to live a balanced life, since we are overwhelmed (daily) with the temptation to worship our social networking, media, and electronic devices. We enjoy technology so much that we rarely take the time to consider whether or not our time committed to technology is proper and godly. I was challenged, as Tricia wrote about her own temptation to stop working, so that she could check her email or anything else that was only one click away. I do much of my Bible study online, I can relate. I can remember the many times that I was trying to study, when in a matter of moments I found myself on Facebook, checking stats on my blog, or looking for my next book purchase on Amazon.

In exchange for an honest review Tyndale Blog Network has provided me a free copy of this book. I have given an honest review.

https://www.amazon.com/Wired-Soul-Finding-Spiritual-Hyperconnected

 

