About the Author

Cynthia Barnett is an award-winning environmental journalist who has reported on water from the Suwannee River to Singapore. She is the author of two previous books, Mirage and Blue Revolution, a Boston Globe top 10 science book of 2011. She lives in Gainesville, Florida with her husband and children. Visit her website at cynthiabarnett.net.

177450

The above information has been copied from: penguinrandomhouse.com/books/228186/rain-by-cynthia-barnett/

When I saw this book it looked like a great opportunity to read about rain, and I was not quite sure what to expect. I realize now, that in the future I need to be more careful about what books I request to review. I enjoyed the book, but there were times that I drudged through. Cynthia is an evolutionary environmentalist. Which created slight problems for me as I read the book.

I am a young earth creationist (don’t throw any stones). Please don’t leave any argumentative comments, I do not argue about these things. I also believe in a global flood, specifically the flood recorded in the book of Genesis. Cynthia dated the earth much older and believes that the account(s) of a global flood are only mythical. She wrote about these things early in the book.

However, I did learn some new things. Cynthia wrote about the first barometer and the first meteorologist. I did not realize that common hobbyists have contributed so much to science, specifically weather science. I read about some families who endured droughts, healthy rains, and floods. I enjoyed her writing style. She would write about a particular family or share a particular story and move on to another subject. Within a few pages she would conclude with an ending of the previous explanation or historical account. At first I though that it might annoy me, but as I continued to read, it became fun, wondering to myself if she was actually finished with what she was saying. I am not sure if what I am writing makes sense, if not, you will have to read the book.

I was interested to learn about how rain has influenced the arts. Specifically in the area of music and writing, I would have never considered this. Cynthia discuss several bands, writers, and movies that include rain or have been affected and influenced by rain. While reading this book, I asked myself, what does rain do to me and how does it make me feel?

I learned about rain manufacturing and rainmakers. Rainmakers were men who claimed the ability to provide rain on demand, and they made a living making rain. In fact, there were times when even the government supported such men. Cynthia also wrote about those who seed clouds with dry ice to cause rain. And rain warfare, for an explanation, you will just have to read the book.

In the conclusion it became clear (to me, so it seems) that Cynthia’s study of rain history is for the purpose of knowing how to deal with weather and climate change. She believes that such knowledge will improve the efforts  of scientists in preventing further climate change (or better understand it). She traveled all over the world and talked with many different people as she researched for the writing of this book. I applaud her efforts. I would probably not recommend this book to my friends, because most of them are YEC who believe in a global flood. But if you are an environmentalist, weather historian, or naturalist you may want to add this book to your reading list. Cynthia received many awards for this book, evidence that many people enjoyed it!

I received a review copy of this book from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review. I have given an honest review.

