Handfuls of Seed

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. Psalm 23.1-2

I have read several books that exposit Psalm 23. Much of my exposition has been influenced by people smarter and more experienced than me. Very little of my thinking is original, because I have been influenced by many writers and expositors. I would like to recommend two books that I have found helpful and prefer over others (He Leadeth Me:Shepherd Life in Palestine-Psalm 23 by C.W. Slemming, A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 by Phillip Keller) But I hope that what I write will be encouraging.

There have been many different expositions of Psalm 23, specifically verse two.  For example, I have read about a pecking order among sheep and the anxiety that exists as a result. If this is true, the Shepherd…

View original post 808 more words

