I spent over three hours perusing https://www.familychristian.com. I opened every tab and looked at hundreds of items. I spent most of my time looking for books. The books are a little pricey in comparison to online distributors and the used books I normally purchase on Amazon. But, for a period of time Family Christian is offering a promotional “buy 1 get 1 50% off all books, dvd’s, music, and more.” A few days ago I made a purchase at the store, and within a few days I received a coupon for 25% off. Despite the high prices, Family Christian seems to offer a good reward program with plenty of savings. Family Christian is also not for profit, and they have donated hundreds of thousands of dollars. They have provided written and audio Bibles for many people. They have helped orphans and widows. They have been able to help many people in a variety of ways (check out the website). So whenever you purchase something from Family Christian, you are not only receiving a product, you are also helping others. And they had an excellent clearance aisle, my wife picked up some accessories for the house (50% off).

At the store I purchased some accessories for the house (see image below), and a matching card game for our summer day camp. The store was on the small side, due to the location, I think. As I said there were many clearance items on sale. I prefer Bible reference books, commentaries, and theology books. That particular section was a little bare. There was a great selection of one volume commentaries, but no individual book commentaries. There was plenty of dictionaries to choose from, but very little theology (plenty of resources online). When I went to the Bible section I looked for the Modern English Version. The Modern English Version is a version translated from the textus receptus that was completed in latter 2014. They only had three available, which is common. Bookstores have been slow about getting this Bible on the shelves, but many are available online. The store was clean and organized. The apparel section was small, but they also had the new active wear available (see the website). The music and movie section is fairly large. There was a nice children’s section, including books, games, and toys. All types of cards are available. And the decor section of the store had plenty to choose from.

IMG_1502

I appreciate the kindness of the employees. They allowed us to include them in the photo, they were very gracious. I am surprised that they were not weirded out by my request. I tried not to make things awkward, but this is the first time that I have ever reviewed a store. I suppose it will come easier and be less awkward in the future. I hope. I am disappointed that I did not get a better picture. And since I did not, I apologize to these two gracious and helpful ladies, Emily and Kathy.

 

41bwJCb80-L._AC_US160_51Cl6+vmtdL._AC_US160_

I spent my 25.00 coupon online. I chose, Expositional Preaching: How We Speak God’s Word Today, and Paul Meets Muhammad: A Christian-Muslim Debate on the Resurrection. Shopping online was a breeze. I chose Expositional Preaching because it is one of my textbooks for my upcoming class. I chose Paul meets Muhammed because, well, it seems interesting.

One of my readers will have the opportunity to win a 25.00 coupon to use online or in the store. In order to participate you must follow my blog and like this review. Giveaways are open to readers within the continental U.S. and Canada. If you follow my blog, and like this post (not Facebook), I will assume that you want to participate. In one week, on August 17, I will randomly choose one winner.

“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller /FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

IMG_1498

IMG_1501

 

