About the author: Ronald H. Nash (b. May 27, 1936; d. March 10, 2006) was an Evangelical Baptist philosopher and apologist in the Calvinist tradition. Nash served as a professor for over 40 years, teaching and writing in the areas of worldview, apologetics, ethics, theology and history.

Ronald H. Nash was born in Cleveland, Ohio on May 27, 1936.  He earned his Bachelor’s degree at Barrington College, and a Master’s degree at Brown University, before going on to receive his Doctorate in Doctoral category:Philosophy from Syracuse University in 1964.

Following his doctoral work, Nash became the Chairman of the Department of Philosophy and Religion and Director of Graduate Studies in Humanities at Taught at Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, Kentucky), where he served for 27 years. In 1991, he became Professor of Philosophy and Theology at Reformed Theological Seminary (Orlando, Florida), serving there until 2002. Additionally, Nash was Professor of Philosophy at the Taught at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary (Louisville, Kentucky) from 1998-2005. Nash passed away on March 10, 2006, due to complications from a stroke.

The information above has been copied from (www.theopedia.com/ronald-nash).

Direct quote and quite possibly the purpose of the book, “I am convinced… few Americans have  been taught to think in terms of worldview. They do not know what a worldview is; they could not spell out the context of their own worldview if they lives depended upon it; they are unaware of how various aspects of conflicting worldview clash logically.” (p. 9) Nash writes, “the most important step for Christians is to become informed about the Christian worldview, a comprehensive systematic view of life and of the world as a whole. No believe today can be really effective in the area of ideas until he or she has been trained to think in worldview terms.” (p. 14)

I purchased this book so that I could intelligently explain the concept of a world-view. I am teaching teenagers so I did not need the book to be complicated. I wanted to explain the concept in the simplest of terms. And I think that (throughout most of the book) Nash did explain the concept very well. I enjoyed the book and underlined some great quotes. I am sure that in the future I will continue to use this book as a resource. It is little dated, published in 1992. I would love to see an updated edition. Seeing how Nash is no longer with us but with the Lord, an updated edition would be impossible. In that regard, if any readers of this blog knows of a recent and valuable work about world-views, I would love to hear some recommendations.

I enjoyed the first few chapters where Nash definitively explained what a worldview is. He explained the role of presuppositions and the five major elements of a worldview. Nash wrote about choosing a worldview and contrasted the Christian and naturalist worldview. Which I think was great, he really simplified this through a visual illustration. One I will continue to use as I explain God’s creative work and intelligent design. He contrasted Christianity with the new age worldview. I just skimmed through this section. I am not certain, but I am assuming that the new age movement has lost its thrust in the world of ideas. Very rarely do I ever hear about the new age movement. As I said, I wish that the book was updated. I would love to hear what Nash thinks about modern atheists, and the multicultural-religion (worldview) shift in America.

Nash contributed a section on reason, which I also dredged through. It may appeal to others, but it was a little academic for me (most books are). Sometimes I have to read a book twice to comprehend the context. Many of the books reviewed on this blog I have had to read twice. Hopefully those of you who read my book reviews are encouraged by my efforts. He also dedicated one chapter to the problem of evil, a very succinct proposition, hardly exhausted. After looking through the chapter once more, I realize that I only underlined two small sections. Which means that there was nothing new to his argument, but remember the book is twenty-five years old. Nash hashes out some arguments for the incarnation and resurrection of Jesus. Overall I liked the book, my biggest complaint is that the book is outdated.

