http://charlesmartinbooks.com/books

https://www.facebook.com/author.charles.martin

About Charles: Christy and I married in 1993. If you include dating, I’ve known and loved her for more than half my life. She is and always will be the home for my heart. We have three boys. Charlie, John T. and Rives. Folks often ask me, which of my books do I like the best. You might as well line up my sons and ask me who I love the most.

My hobbies are bow hunting, working out (a blend of old school stuff and martial arts, called Fight Fit) and Tae Kwon Do. In October 2012 I earned my black belt but I’m still the least flexible person you’ve ever met. The guy that trains me, laughs everytime I start warming up. My boys are far better at Tae Kwon Do than I but I doubt they have as much fun – I get to do and watch. They just do.

I also like to write, but that’s another story.

About the book: Maggie is the sequel to The Dead Don’t Dance. Apparently Charles likes to write about tragedy. Every time you think things cannot get any worse they do. At the conclusion of The Dead Don’t Dance Maggie wakes up from her coma. Dylan and Maggie have to deal with their tragedy in their own way, and it takes time. They face the concern of having another child, if they can (biologically). They are challenged by a pretty tough adoption agency. Unfortunately as a series of tragedies take place, even a few of their friends become victims of revenge. One character in the story, the local pastor, used to be a thief. His past compadres have gotten out of prison and have sought out revenge.

Bryce, the Vietnam war hero who wears a skirt and plays bagpipes is missing for nearly half the novel. But he comes back, and when he does, he plays quite the performance. Everyone in the story is a hero. As you see the characters lives unfold and as they experience tragedy, you cannot help but be encouraged by their integrity and tenacity. I liked the first book better, probably because the tragedy was a little overwhelming for me. How much bad stuff can happen to one or two families? In this novel series, a lot of bad stuff happens. The story does conclude with hope, does that mean that we will hear about Dylan and Maggie again?

 

