http://jonweece.com/#

ABOUT JON:
Jon Weece is married to Allison, and they have two children, Ava and Silas. For the past fourteen years he has been the Lead Follower at Southland Christian Church—a community of fourteen thousand Jesus followers in Central Kentucky who love people in extravagant ways. Prior to moving to Lexington, Jon lived in Haiti for four years.

The information above has been copied from Jon’s personal website.

John writes, “and thats what this book is about: an eternal Father who specializes in wiping away tears, and the people he uses to help him.” (p. xvii)

Great quotes: “I was so happy I cried. Have you ever been so happy you cried?” p. 95

“The church was never meant to be a pristine showroom. It was meant to be a messy living room filled with people who have messed up. So we have a faucet that we never turn off, and what flows out isn’t finger pointing and rock throwing. What flows out of the churches is what flows out of Jesus-help, hope, and healing.” p. 106

“Every command God gives us is an invitation into a better life, not a requirement for love.” p. 134

John proposes that people often feel relief as they hear the words “me too.” In the book he strays form the point a little. In fact he does not really elaborate on it. The book has minimal bible references. One would think that there would be more, considering that Johns a pastor. The formatting was choppy and strange. I am not sure why John chose such a method. It wasn’t terrible, just different. Despite the last few comments I found the book to be very comforting and I enjoyed it.

Me Too is filled with stories about John, his family, and friends. It seems as though John started with the stories and tried to develop a biblical and practical application within the story. I suppose, John is trying to tell others “me too.” The book is just the right length. Since the book was a little incoherent and he strayed a little from the original proposal a longer book would have made it awkward. As it is, the book is the proper length and I would recommend it. Although I would probably recommend many others first. I do enjoy reading personal testimonies, which is why I liked the book as much as I did.

In exchange for an honest review I have received a copy of this book from BookLook bloggers. I have given an honest review.

