A few days ago I wrote an original post about prayer, specifically thoughtful application of prayer without ceasing. Since our days are busy with family, ministry, work, and school then we must be creative in the way that we pray. There was a diversity of opinions regarding my fist post on prayer. So, I immediately took into account what people said and begin to think more carefully, and listened.

By definition prayer is interpersonal communication, relational, intercessory, praise, worship (individual and community), and meditation (listening for the leading and illumination of the Holy Spirit) upon the word of God. I propose, praying with the intent of listening must follow the reading and meditation of God’s Word. It is through the Scriptures that God speaks to us, and in the same way we are sanctified. Which is why praying without ceasing must also be coupled with constant meditation on the Bible. I do realize that God can occupy our mind and provoke a thought that would never have originated within ourselves, but this only happens as we are walking in the light and abiding in the vine. I love the way Jesus used metaphors! He was so creative, I love Jesus, don’t you?

As I wrote in the first paragraph, following a slight concern from another believer, I contemplated what I wrote in my original post on prayer. And I asked myself and the Holy Spirit if I had misrepresented prayer in some way. I listened. Without the passing of much time I was reminded of a metaphor, and very specific verses, which I intend to share. I hope that you will be encouraged in the same way that I was, and am.

I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved John 10.9a

I challenged my students to pray throughout the day as they cross the threshold of the classroom door. What better opportunity to praise and worship our Savior for so great a salvation. I will not take the time to write all of the things that we could say to God and contemplate on as we approach a physical door while thinking about Jesus and our salvation. We don’t have to say anything, we can recite John 10.9 and listen to the words of Christ. I get goose bumps just thinking about it.

Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me. Revelation 3.20

In the book of Revelation we have another excellent reminder of our relational experience with Christ. Prayer is active, emotional, mental. spiritual, experiential, and relational. Why are these verses important for us, and more specifically, why are they connected to what I have previously written? The door, or crossing the threshold of a door provides opportunity for us to think about the gospel and the beautiful fellowship that we can embrace in Christ, because of Christ. We can take a mundane action, like walking through the door, and celebrate THE DOOR.

