Prayer Devotional Review: 365 Pocket Morning Prayers

About the author: Dave Veerman

“Prayer is a privilege.”

“Prayer is personal.”

“Prayer is powerful.”

Veerman writes, “this book was written to support and encourage you in your daily conversation with God.” (Introduction)

Veerman’s prayer devotional is bound with a decorative blue leather (design: palm tree and birds), shown above. There are 365 devotionals, each devotional has a theme, for example: confidence, courage, Christ’s return, and preachers. Nearly every page includes a theme, prayer devotional, and Bible verse. After every five days, two succinct devotionals  are written on one page. For many years the Psalms have encouraged believers. This devotional is written in the same tradition of prayers. I would like to remind readers that the prayers within the devotional contrast the biblical psalms, this book is not inspired by God. I read the prayers to generate my own thoughts and prayers. I read them for devotional purpose and would not read them as a personal prayer. At the conclusion of the book readers can find a topical index. I encourage readers to mark favorite prayers in the topical index to create a memory system of favorites.

In the past I have avoided devotionals, but more recently the value of a daily devotional has become more clear. I continue to insist that devotionals are best left out or laid out in a gathering area such as a living room. Such a location provides opportunity for brief reading and the presence of a devotional encourages guests to peruse.

In exchange for an honest review Tyndale Blog Network has provided me a copy of this devotional. I have written an honest review.

