About the author: Richard T. Case

About the book: The Blessings of Unity

Free book made available by the All For Jesus Living Waters Ministry, Two Keys To Live an Unshakeable Life

Great quote  about a judgmental attitude,

“We who have judged others (i.e. prematurely established that we are right and the other party wrong) and condemn them are actually bringing condemnation upon ourselves. The righteousness and holiness of God automatically condemns us because our hearts have moved toward self-righteousness to establish our position as God and not surrendered to God… It is not our right to bring judgment but rather to pursue truth together. This does  not mean that we don’t have disagreements or can’t see things differently. Rather it means that we don’t come at our disagreements with a heart that thinks I’m right and the other person is wrong and it’s my job to persuade them. The better way is to believe that I’m right but I am willing to process truth to see God’s truth and thus not come into judgment or condemnation.” p. 17

The Blessings of unity opens up with a brief introduction containing six different concepts. The fist chapter includes a marriage evaluation (interesting). I believe that the evaluation may prove useful. Richard suggests two key concepts, abiding in the Vine and walking in the Spirit, and learning and applying the concept of unity. 

Unity is an important topic, and it’s very relevant. I enjoyed reading his study and mediation of unity, but the marriage portion left me wanting. It seemed that a major portion of the book related to unity. He did talk about his own marriage experience and scattered marital information throughout the book, but I’m persuaded that the author should have included more about marriage since he chose to title the book, God’s Best for Our Marriages.

Richard did write a good piece on unity, brief, but fairly good. I think that our theology may slightly differ. There were a few passages that needed better explanation, or used in context. On page fifty-two Richard assumes that the Abrahamic covenant (Genesis 12.1-3) is written for us.  Within the covenant there is a singular universal blessing that pertains to all believers. As I understand him, Richards exposition of the covenant (more than one occasion) is inaccurate. If I am mistaken, than it is possible that he could have written more clearly. Overall I liked the book, specifically what he wrote about unity.

In exchange for an honest review Flyby promotions has provided me a copy of this book. I have given an honest review. Don’t forget to download the free e-book.

I am offering a giveaway copy of The Blessings of Unity, God’s Best for Our Marriage. In order to participate you must follow my blog and like this post (not the Facebook post). If you are a follower and you like this blog I will assume that you want to participate in the giveaway drawing. If you follow me by email rather than WordPress you will not be able to like the post, just comment that you want to participate in the giveaway. The giveaway only applies to residents living within the U.S. or Canada.

“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

