While reading C.S. Lewis (On Stories: And Other Essays on Literature) I discovered that MacDonald inspired Lewis. Since that was true, I had to check out MacDonald. I really enjoy reading Lewis so I had to meet the man that inspired Lewis. I was pleased to find out that many of MacDonald’s books (The Princess and the Goblin) are free for the Kindle.

Great Quotes:

“People must believe what they can, and those who believe more must not be hard upon those who believe less. I doubt if you would have believe it all yourself if you hadn’t seen some of it.”

“Seeing is not believing-it is only seeing.”

“But in the meantime you must be content, I say, to be misunderstood for a while. We are all very anxious to be understood, and it is very hard not to be.”

“There is something you cannot explain, and her explanation may be the right one.”

“The truest princess is just the one who loves all her brothers and sisters best, and who is most able to do them good by being humble towards them.”

I was not disappointed. MacDonald wrote a great a story about a young princess. In the story subterranean goblins are the natural enemies of the humans, and more specifically the King and the princess. The goblins devised a plan to reverse the existing roles. Fortunately a brave young boy overheard the goblin’s plan and developed his own plan to thwart the goblins. In order to survive the goblin attack the young princess needed the help of her mysterious and magical great, great, grandmother (excellent character). I read the book in two sittings. I only gave up last night because I was so sleepy. The Princess and the Goblin is a great story for children and adults. The book is free on the kindle, you have no excuse to avoid reading it. Unless of course, you don’t have a kindle, in that case, buy a copy. Now go read!

