About the book and author: Max Davis

Great Quotes:

“Religion is man’s way of working hard to try to be accepted by God. True Christianity is about receiving what God has done for us and His Spirit coming inside us to have an ongoing relationship with us.” p. 27-28

“My writing life and ministry has been the story of my own development. When working on a book projects, I like to think that I’m making a book, but really, God is using the book-writing and publishing process to make me.” p. 40

“God knows more about me than I know about myself.” p. 62

“Don’t try to be normal. It’ll mess you up.” p. 74

When I first read the title of this book I knew that it was a strange title, but you know the old saying, “don’t judge a book buy its cover.” Despite the title, I was not really deterred from taking the time to read this book. A few months ago I read a fictional book by Davis, and I enjoyed it, so this book was not much of a risk. In fact, I think that Max Davis and I share some common characteristics. Like myself, Max Davis started seminary and ministry later in life, he is a skeptic, and he asks thoughtful and challenging questions. Since our similar personality often causes conflict within relationships, it is nice to read about others with the same struggle. Although, I must admit he has had many more struggles than myself. I also aspire to write. It took Max many years before he ever wrote, and even longer before he was published. I’m glad I read the book; his story gives me hope.

If you haven’t guessed it already, the green eyed brunette is Max’s wife. She is the young lady whose character was so similar to Jesus that Max became more enamored with Jesus and less with carnality. She had quite an impact on Max, but it would be many years later before they were married. Max writes a great deal about his life. He writes transparently. Make sure that you have tissues on hand.

After telling a great deal of stories about how God has worked in his life, Max shares the stories of many others: his deaf son, a converted Muslim, a motorcycle enthusiast who is enthusiastic about sharing Jesus, a brick layer, and a homeless man. He ties all of the stories in with Scripture and includes an explanation of how God works within our lives.

In exchange for an honest review Flyby promotions has provided me a copy of When Jesus Was a Green-Eyed Brunette; Loving People Like God Does. I have given an honest review

I am offering a giveaway copy of When Jesus Was a Green-Eyed Brunette; Loving People Like God Does. order to participate you must follow my blog and like this post (not the Facebook post). If you are a follower and you like this blog I will assume that you want to participate in the giveaway drawing. If you follow me by email rather than Word Press you will not be able to like the post, just comment that you want to participate in the giveaway. The giveaway only applies to residents living within the U.S. or Canada.

“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

 

