Yesterday I posted a song; readers were encouraged. So, I got this crazy idea to post a song for seven consecutive days.

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. Colossians 3:16

Not so crazy after all, it’s biblical. I will be choosing my personal favorites, songs that encourage me. I hope that you are blessed by these spiritual songs.

The first song I am sharing is Holy Spirit by Krysten Getty. I love this song. It is poetic and full of theology. Listen to the end for a real treat. At the end of the song Krysten quotes a prayer written by Patrick, the Christian missionary to Ireland  (also known as St. Patrick). There are many songs about the Father and Jesus, but few about the Holy Spirit. I appreciate this song because it forces us to meditate on the miraculous and life-changing work of the Holy Spirit. We often neglect to consider the importance of the Holy Spirit. The Spirit is the most difficult of the triune God to relate to; without the Spirit’s ministry we could never experience salvation, or oneness with the Father, Jesus, and the rest of the Church. Jesus prayed that we would become one, and we have, because of the Holy Spirit. I hope that through this song you live more aware of the Holy Spirit’s ministry in your life and church, and that you praise Him for all of His work.

Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ: Philippians 1:6

