Song seven of my seventh day of sharing and encouraging with hymns and spiritual songs. The last song is another that I immediately favored. I heard it for the first time several years ago. A few months ago on a Sunday morning I was feeling discouraged. That morning our choir sang “How Deep the Father’s Love.” It was exactly what I needed. The melody is beautiful and the lyrics are theological. I hope you are blessed.

Yet it pleased the Lord to bruise him;… And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?…   For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life…  Hereby perceive we the love of God, because he laid down his life for us:..  It is finished… For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.

How deep the Father’s love for us,
How vast beyond all measure,
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure.
How great the pain of searing loss –
The Father turns His face away,
As wounds which mar the Chosen One
Bring many sons to glory.

Behold the man upon a cross,
My sin upon His shoulders;
Ashamed, I hear my mocking voice
Call out among the scoffers.
It was my sin that held Him there
Until it was accomplished;
His dying breath has brought me life –
I know that it is finished.

I will not boast in anything,
No gifts, no power, no wisdom;
But I will boast in Jesus Christ,
His death and resurrection.
Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer;
But this I know with all my heart –
His wounds have paid my ransom

Stuart Townend Copyright © 1995 Thankyou Music (Adm. by CapitolCMGPublishing.com excl. UK & Europe, adm. by Integrity Music, part of the David C Cook family, songs@integritymusic.com)

