I would like to revisit the grave of Lazarus. Jesus said unto her (Martha-the sister of Lazarus), I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: And whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die. Believest thou this? John 11:25-26

Jesus saith unto her, Said I not unto thee, that, if thou wouldest believe, thou shouldest see the glory of God? John 11:40

Jesus’ compassion for the world led Him to a grave. The power He demonstrated to restore life to the dead was also revealed in His own resurrection.

Believest thou this?

Jesus lifted up his eyes, and said, Father, I thank thee that thou hast heard me. And I knew that thou hearest me always: but because of the people which stand by I said it, that they may believe that thou hast sent me. John 11:41, 42

I used to feel strange and uncomfortable about public prayer. Then I read this passage carefully and recognized the value of hearing other people pray. Jesus’ prayer was personal; He thanked the Father for listening; He acknowledged that the Father could hear Him, and the answer to His request validated the authority and deity of Jesus. Who else has ever raised a man from the dead immediately after making a personal and specific request to the Father?

Lazarus walked forth despite the grave clothes that wrapped his body, face, and head. I love it! Go away death! Be gone!

